Searching for...

Sunday, 4 May 2014

REVIEW: SINCERELY YOURS 4 Story Historical Collection by Laurie A Eakes, Ann Shorey, Amanda Cabot, Jane Kirkpatrick


In this collection of unique historical novellas from four outstanding storytellers, four young women find their lives altered after each receives a letter that sets her on a new path toward a changed life-
-and perhaps lifelong love.
From a Hudson River steamboat to a lush drawing room, a carousel carver's workshop to a remote and controversial hospital, readers will be swept into the lives of these young women who are making their way in the world and finding love where they least expect it.                                    ~ publisher


pages: pb 378 , ebook 384

published: April 1.2014 and March 25.2014

publisher: Fleming H Revell


My Thoughts?

Four standalone stories combined to form one historical novel offering a variety of faith based inspy reading.
A perfect reading break when your time is limited!


by Laurie Alice Eakes 

Steamboat romance finds our heroine, Camilla Renfrew,
when she responds to a letter inviting her to a position in America.  On the run from a dismal and dangerous turn in her English family's noble standing, Camilla accepts.  Her leap to board the departing steamboat perfectly symbolizes the leap of faith her future requires. Consequences of her late destination arrival turn suspenseful when the boat is targeted, damaged, and delayed by Captain Black's unscrupulous competition. A perfect combination of Ms Eakes' trademark of intriguing adventure and romance.

LESSONS in LOVE by Ann Shorey 
Twenty year old Merrie Montgomery prefers spending her time writing than marriage market socializing.  Complications abound when her signature is mistaken to be that of a male by the publisher of her writing who invites 'Mr' MM Bentley to meet him at the publishing co.

Merrie relies on scheming that results in
hot water for more than just herself.
Lessons in the learning...

I shuddered at the Kipler's Home Weekly advice single Merrie wrote for married women, 
yet realize it may have been in keeping with religious thought of the era.
Colin, her piano teacher and romantic interest, is well drawn and though of a lower life station, he is definitely providing an attractive, albeit complicated, addition to Merrie's life...

ONE LITTLE WORD by Amanda Cabot
Not accustomed to failure, being compared to a 'useless ornament' incenses Lorraine to prove herself. With her inheritance and future hanging in the balance, her motivation gains strength.
A beautiful progression as Lorraine develops from the socialite who received her brother's invitation with that secret plea, to then become a woman of depth and dignity with a heart that's willing to defy convention for what she's come to believe in.

A SAVING GRACE by Jane Kirkpatrick
Grace receives a note from her 8 year old god-daughter appealing for Grace to help her mother who's
gone away for a health program, but isn't getting well.  Can she deny a friend in need?
Grace is unprepared for the true condition of her friend
and, wary of those running the sanatorium,
escape becomes her plan.
Unsure of the hotel guest who's captured her attention,
she's unwilling to let him in on her plans.
Though that might not have been such a bad idea 
when Grace finds herself under lock and key...


Very satisfying collection of novellas, each offering
 a unique plot, resulting from that simple act 
of opening a letter received in the post. . .

Author Bios:

Laurie Alice Eakes - author of the just released, A Lady’s Honor, 1st in the Cliffs of Cornwall series, The Midwives series and The Daughters of Bainbridge House series. Laurie Alice writes full-time from her home in Texas, where she lives with her husband.
Visit lauriealiceeakes for more.

Jane Kirkpatrick is the award-winning author of many novels, including The Daughter's Walk. She is a frequent speaker at conferences and lives in Oregon.
Visit jkbooks for more.

Amanda Cabot is the bestselling author of the Texas Dreams series, the Westward Winds series, and Christmas Roses. She lives in Wyoming.
Visit amandacabot for more.

Ann Shorey is the author of At Home in Beldon Grove series and the Sisters at Heart series. Ann and her husband make their home in southwestern Oregon.
Visit annshorey for more.



Find and follow FHC online:

@_eHope - Goodreads - Facebook 

Pinterest - GFC  -  bottom of page



No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails